Finding a Home

“Even the sparrow finds a home,
and the swallow a nest for herself,
Where she may lay her young,
at your altars, O LORD of hosts,
my King and my God.
Blessed are those who dwell in your house,
ever singing your praise!” -Psalm 84:3-4

I’ve always struggled with finding a place where I fit in. I am the quintessential square in a world of circles.

There are times when I think I have have finally found my place, that I have arrived in the world of four-sided shapes only to discover that it is filled with trapezoids and rectangles.

I accepted that I was just different and moved on. I lived by the idea that people could be similar but not the same. Of course that is true, but it doesn’t mean that I should be living a life in which I feel out of place in, like I’m still looking for a home.

In case you are wondering, this isn’t about how I have finally found it.

Rather, I have come to the realization that I will never have just one home, one place I fit in. As I change, I no longer fit in certain places and it is time to move on.

I read a beautiful blog post by someone who, just like me, is ready for God to say “Go” so they can head off somewhere and do something big already, but they too are in a waiting time. They wrote about these words that God had for them “Stay ready. Keep your shoes on.” It reminded me that, though I am waiting, as soon as God says it is time to go, there is no hesitation.

My place on earth will change and shift. Just like the sparrow migrates from home to home and the swallow builds their nest in different places, so will I move as time goes on. I just need to keep my shoes on.

I will find a home and I will move from place to place, but no matter if I am there yet or where it is, I will always dwell in the house of the Lord, waiting patiently until it’s time to go.


“Keep your shoes on…” by Kayley from mybestfriendjoe

Read about what I’m doing while I am in a waiting place here

Leave a Reply

